Home alters/shrines

I suppose home alters and/or shrines have existed for centuries as symbols of spiritual realities. Here is my homemade one where I go to retreat each day. The wooden statue of Christ came from my mother -- the little chair from her mother -- the bronze incense holder was part of my parents living room for many years when I was a child - I eventually claimed it -- and the gong is Japanese. I've added a Contemplative Outreach logo of "patience waiting" (apt term for meditation) and a photo of the chapel at St. Benedict's Monastery, Snowmass CO.

6 responses
Nice. The picture of the chapel is a similar angle to the one on Fr. Menninger's website (built-in 20 minute timer for CP which is very nice for me to use at home) http://www.contemplativeprayer.net/ (on the left, click on third arrow)
Is the pillow sitting directly on the carpet for yoga? If so, where did you find it?
Oops, I should have spelled it Fr. "Meninger"
Hi Marie - I'll checkout Fr. Meninger's site - I haven't been there in awhile. I currently use an iPhone app Equanimity to time sits - it works well and has a built-in gong that chimes 3x at the end of whatever length one sets, 20, 30, 45 min, etc.

The cushion the gong is sitting on came with the gong from Dharmacrafts http://www.dharmacrafts.com/. They sell them in different sizes and each size sits on a cushion appropriate in size to the size of the gong.

How do you think @CenteringPrayer is doing? Do you have any suggestions for making it a better service? When I've asked followers there hasn't been much feedback. Cheers -

OK, thanks. There are hardly any apps for the Android, so I'll keep using what I have and check my App store again. I asked about the pillow/cushion because I'm looking for one for Gentle Yoga. I didn't even know gongs came with a cushion.

I think @CenteringPrayer is great. I'm impressed when anyone can keep up with more than one Twitter account. Gentle reminders, thoughtful statements, and relevant quotes are important to me, as well as no hard selling. Pointing folks to the Heartfulness CD is fine. Linking to the Contemplative Outreach website and newsletters is good.

I never finished Hot, Flat, Crowded, but will, someday. I'm currently reading 'Too Deep for Words' per the suggestion of one of your interviews.

Are you involved with the Atlanta program later this year?

Dharmacrafts also sells cushions without gongs.

I'm on the planning committee for the Atlanta annual meeting and we've just started planning - theme is "The Contemplative Dimension of Life" - I'm doing tweets from David Frenette's writings on "incarnational contemplation" the 3rd Wave that related.

Thanks much for the @centeringprayer feedback. I hope you'll let me know if anything arises that you think I need to hear.

By the way, are you the C.O. Coordinator in your area?