15 responses
I am an avid reader and wonder:
How does it feel in your hands, can it be read easily in the sun, and can you share books with other Kindle owners?
I have one on order that is due to arrive at the end of the month so we'll find out. I held the first version and it was much thicker than version 2. It is easily readable outdoors in sunlight. Its built differently than a computer monitor/screen and uses digital ink - more legible. I don't know for sure but I'd doubt you can share books but I may be wrong. Amazon would lose money.
Cool,
Thank you
Please let me know how it works for you..
I'll let you try it for yourself.
Very generous of you. However, you will have to find something less profound for me to read.....you read way over my head.
I'll see what I can do - you might be surprised.

Sent from Ron's iPhone
I don't think so
"Reading" your blog reinforces you are so much deeper than I could even pretend to be
Though apparently not deep enough to know how to respond to your comment.

Sent from Ron's iPhone
How about this - I'm currently reading "Understanding Comics" by Scott McCloud. How's that for a level playing field!?
Barnes ad Noble says....Eisner Award nominee, uses a comic book to explain and analyze the medium of comic books themselves. This ultimate book about comics dissects the art form and shows how words, lines, colors, symbols, panels and pictures all come together to create a unique and one-of-a-kind storytelling experience.
That said and keeping in mind that I am not very sophisticated you still think it is a fair playing field?
BTW I heard something about the new iphone having downloading book capacity. That might be a viable option. Have you heard this?
If its not we'll make it so!
I knew such was on the iPhone and recommended but there were features about the K that I wanted, e.g. wireless access to buying and downloading books.
Making it fair might take some doing on your part. I am glad you are willing to try!
When I first heard of Kindle I thought "I'm not interested - why bother?." Then I held and read from one and saw how clear the text was, and then learned about the wireless access to Amazon and that cinched it. In addition, I'd filled up all of my considerable book shelves at home (Kindle can hold 1500 books). I put my order in Jan. 28.

It arrived yesterday and her eis my 21 hr review. I like it. The form factor is great, i.e. SUPER thin, smooth, light and small. I've bought 3 books and its taken about 15 seconds to download each via wireless (Sprint 3G) from Amazon. I'm still learning the interaction structure but it seems fairly logical and user friendly. I do find the "joystick"-like contoller a little small, and I'm still waiting for my New York Times to auto download this morning (not a function of Kindle though).

Overall, I like it, we'll see if like becomes love and competes with the love for my iPhone.