Mothers and Children

Physical exercise isn't all physical. A case in point was when on a recent bike ride I observed moms and their children in relationship at two ends of the lifespan. The first was on a woodland trail where two helmeted moms were biking with a young boy and girl, also helmeted. As I passed them on the narrow trail, going in the opposite direction, I heard one mom exclaim to the young girl ahead of her, "nice going, way to go!" after the girl had apparently negotiated a difficult aspect of the trail. Later, I cut through a cemetery, where, there was a man and his mom placing flowers at a grave. In passing close by, and feeling a little self-conscious as if I was the interloper, I said, "good morning" to mom which she acknowledged and inwardly I acknowledged all the souls there who lay at peace, apparently in relationship still.