Mountain Biking Through Hoyles Mill Ford

Today, Easter, was beautiful, sunny, warm and the trees have begun to show buds of new life. I took to the Hoyles Mill Trail by bike and much to my surprise, was greeted by this impressive hiker/biker bridge that had been constructed since last I was this way. Normally, depending on water depth, one would need to dismount, remove socks and shoes and wade across Little Seneca Creek. An informative educational/historical marker (see snaps) had also been added. Formally, a county road, now closed except to hikers/bikers ran on either side of the ford and vehicles, or buggies and wagons in earlier times, would cross the creek by driving through it.

A local fellow informed me the bridge cost $360K. I couldn't tell if he was making a comment or just being factual. A senior runner at the bridge informed me this was a good place to swim and cool off in the hot summer - I'll make a note. He also said migratory butterflies nearby caused the bridge's construction to be postponed so as to not imperil the lovelies. The last snap is of Little Seneca Lake from the Hoyles Mill Trail.